What’s the point?

1 May

Sometimes I start something and then start wondering what the point of it all is. Today, especially, I had that feeling, so excuse me very much but this isn’t going to be my longest post.

As mentioned, I had yesterday’s leftovers for breakfast.

breakfast

At work, I decided that the jar of tea yesterday was worth it, so it was worth repeating. Here, have the same picture as yesterday!

tea

Occasionally refill with hot water. You’ll have hot tea all day long.

Around lunch time, I thought I’d garnish the hell out of my food. Turns out, potato salad doesn’t freeze well – the mayo split. Still made for a nice plate of food, though it certainly looked better than it tasted.

lunch

I had a hard time getting inspired for supper. Couldn’t find anything interesting to forage, and any crazy plans for food just turned out to be just that – crazy plans.

Once I finally started cooking, I was hungry and grumpy. Needless to say, everything went wrong. Yorkshire puddings didn’t rise. And this.

accident

Along with being way off-target, as you’ll understand, I’m not having a good time. But what would someone desperately poor do? Exactly. I do regularly mop my kitchen floor with bleach. I wasn’t cooking for you, or for customers, or for anyone else. I put it on a plate and ate it ANYWAY. 45-second rule and all that.

dinner_whoopteedoo

And then I had my last bun of bread.

From the pantry, I used two spoons of flour, an onion and some oil. So the bill for today is, let’s say 15p+4p tea=19p.

So this is where we’re standing:

Total spent so far: 319p
Money left: 181p

Food left: 1 egg
No bread
No coffee
No carrots
No peas
No potato
No potato salad
Some parsnip
Most of a cabbage

I still have to clean the kitchen, and do the washing up.
I might as well quit.

But first I’ll have to find something heavily discounted to eat tomorrow.

4 Responses to “What’s the point?”

  1. Rose May 1, 2014 at 8:41 pm #

    Been following your blog and I’m sorry to see you had such a bad day. Hope things improve.

  2. Marcy May 1, 2014 at 10:46 pm #

    Gosh. We all have days just like that and even with my 3 dogs and cat I would have done the same–eaten it, it builds the immune system and character!

  3. Eric May 1, 2014 at 11:00 pm #

    Oh my, that sounds hard. Good to know I spent every second thinking about how amazing it is what you’re doing, while I was walking down the supermarket isles chucking products in my cart worth more than you’re spending this whole week. Made me realise how rich we really are.. Keep it up, you’re truly inspirational!

  4. Sue May 7, 2014 at 12:29 pm #

    You did well to pick that lot up in under 45 seconds ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

