Meals – Day 03: Fruit yoghurt, pasta from scratch and a wrap

3 Mar

As soon as I woke up today, I realized that I didn’t have any coffee available. Drat. Trouble waking up. Can’t think. As I dragged myself downstairs, a tiny bit of a withdrawal headache. Already. Once I got over cursing at myself, I remembered the herbal tea samples – caffeine free, no doubt. Wait, herbal? Fortunately one of the tea samples I received yesterday was a black tea chai, meaning I could get at least a small amount of caffeine into myself. But obviously it’s not a good idea to have this kind of dependency on the stuff at all. Breakfast was pretty decent today, actually – filling, creamy, slightly sweet, cheap, refreshing and colourful… AND it would provide me with the first of my five-a-day. All I could ever wish for (although I really enjoy bacon and egg on toast in the weekend).

What I had, was a porridge made out of hot water, just off the boil, mixed with 100 grams of the rice flour I milled up earlier. I realized that this alone was going to be pretty bland, so I added both the discounted gooseberry yogurt and the discounted fruit bag. Total cost of breakfast – 4p worth of rice, 5p in fruit and 5p in yogurt.

Lunch cost a bit of work, for two reasons: In the past two days, I’d spend all my “best” ingredients during breakfast and lunch, and this results in having fewer possibilities for supper. I wanted to break that pattern. Second, I now had flour available. Wheat flour, with wonderful, stretchy gluten. Which means, a flour that would be suitable to make pasta, either with or without egg. As I still don’t have any eggs in my pantry (though Sarah’s recent comment might change that!), it would be pasta without egg. All fine with me – if you buy your pasta ready-made, the cheapest stuff won’t contain any egg either (pasta factories, too, realize that pasta will be cheaper if it’s made without egg). I present to you, my hand-made fresh tagliatelle.
Fresh tagliatelle
Now, I happen to have a little pasta maker; note that this could also have been made with nothing but a rolling-pin and a knife.

I brought a pan with water to the boil and added some salt and a branch of rosemary. Meanwhile, I sauteed some onion and browned the leftover of bacon, cut small. Once brown, I added some of the pasta water (which obviously contained a little bit of flour) to turn the bacon/onion mix in a bit of a sauce. I seasoned the sauce and added some mixed herbs. Then I drained the pasta (shortly rinsing it with cold water) and served it with the sauce. I only used half the small onion I had; I added the tiniest little sliver of raw onion to the dish for added flavour.

And here it is: Tagliatelle with onion/bacon sauce. Not quite comparable to a full-blown carbonara, but decent enough.

Tagliatelle with onion/bacon sauce

For dessert, I had the second half of my green apple.

This dish cost me about 9p – less than a pack of instant noodles, but considerably more filling. Also, nothing much was actually wrong with it. Sure, it would have been better with some parmesan on top. But the flavours were just about balanced. The pasta was al dente. I could easily eat this under more glorious circumstances. Mark my words: flour is a great staple food.

Supper was the time to do some more work on those five-a-day. I chopped the cucumber, and apple into small pieces, made a flour tortilla and mixed the apple, cucumber and a sliver of onion and seasoned that with salt and mixed herbs. The result was this apple-cucumber wrap:

Apple/cucumber wrap

With about 4 of my 5 a day taken care of and a banana to spare, I’d say this day was pretty much under control. Of course I’m back at needing vegetables, but at least I’m starting to have some choice now.

Meals done, time for groceries again. This would be so much less time-consuming if I had allowed myself to shop in bulk. Fortunately, breakfast is pretty much under control already.

4 Responses to “Meals – Day 03: Fruit yoghurt, pasta from scratch and a wrap”

  1. sarah March 3, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Looks as you had pretty decent meals today, well done!!! I was thinking about my mornings, I don’t think I can go “coffee-free”…. But on other hand it would be great to get rid of such dependency…

    • kleinebre March 3, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

      Having (wheat) flour available really helps – it’s such a versatile ingredient. Just think of all the possibilities! I’m sure I’ll be going through a few of them this month so stay tuned đŸ˜‰

  2. Arno Brevoort March 7, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    You could try and make coffee substitutes — either acorn coffee, made from, yes, acorns:
    http://www.bushcraftstuff.com/recipes/acorn-coffee/
    or dandelion coffee, made from dandelion roots: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dandelion_coffee

    Caffeine cravings *will* go away eventually.

    If you must have caffeine, you could try getting some “hospitality coffee” from a local car dealer or bank or so — typically small sachets of instant coffee.

    • kleinebre March 8, 2012 at 7:21 am #

      I’ve basically solved it the “easy” way – by avoiding caffeine for now. No dandelion-root digging, no trips to the bank needed… I just need to stay off the stuff during the week.

Leave a Reply

