Groceries – Day 06: Dodgy discounts

6 Mar
Budget carried over from previous days: 14p
Content of pantry before shopping: 

- Perishable:

   No coffee
   1 tomato
   2 portions (approx. 260 grams) of liver
   4 chillies
   1 small bottle school milk (frozen)
   garlic (about 7 cloves left?)

- Non-perishable:

   Most of 750 grams of salt
   Flour
   Rice
   Instant mash (just over half full bag)
   mixed herbs
   lemon thyme
Total budget available for day 6: £ 1.14
Budget used: £ 0.90
Budget left: £ 0.24
Budget available for day 7: £ 1.24

Day 06: Receipt

Budget available for day 7: £ 1.00 + £ 0.24

I thought there wasn’t anything interesting to be found in the discounts section today. How wrong I was. A whole fillet of pork at 20p. Having a use-by date of today – which frankly, isn’t ideal. However, it didn’t look discoloured, so I decided to risk it. If you don’t hear back from me, know that I’m glad to have known all of you.

Day 06 - Groceries
That said, knowing it’s a “risky” piece of meat, I’m treating it as such by following a safety strategy. First of all, I immediately prepared some of it (which I then refrigerated as soon as possible) and froze the rest.

Also, I likely won’t be doing anything but well-done dishes with this fillet. Think soups, casseroles, that sort of stuff (though a more fatty cut would probably work better for that). By the way, did you know ginger has antibacterial properties? If you didn’t, you do now.

I haven’t got any destination for the jelly of eel yet – probably I’ll be using it as an umami boost for a dish. For veg, I’ve got that savoy cabbage there, a mushroom, and a tomato. Together they will provide me well over my five a day, although granted, cabbage might not be the most exciting vegetable. No worries about fruit; it’s provided by the company on Tuesdays.

Oh, you might be surprised I didn’t get another onion yet. I decided to skip it for another day. When it comes to flavour and there’s no onion around, a clove of garlic goes a long way.

3 Responses to “Groceries – Day 06: Dodgy discounts”

  1. sarah March 6, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

    The meat still looks fresh enough to eat. I agree – 100% – it should be well cooked! Hope to see you tomorrow 😉

  2. Elizabeth Hull March 7, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    The small amounts of protein in your diet have been rather worrying, so was glad to hear about the liver, and now the pork (which I’m sure was fine). My daughter & son-in-law eat heavily reduced meat from their local Sainsbury’s ALL the time !
    This is a really interesting blog. Are you keeping track of your weight as well ?

    • kleinebre March 7, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

      “Keeping track” would be an overstatement, but I did collect some health stats before I started.

Leave a Reply

