Meals – Day 07, lazy day

7 Mar

Right. So today I was planning to take it slower than yesterday. Much slower. And I managed.
It started with breakfast. I had planned to make a simple oat porridge. I failed. When I opened the fridge to get out the milk, I spotted the leftover of puff pastry.

Croissants again or oats? Tough call.


I blanched a few cabbage leaves, sprinkled them with salt and vinegar, packed my instant noodles and set off to work. Lunch, unsurprisingly, looked like this:

Finally: supper. That turned out more inspired than I had thought, but still extremely lazy. To permit myself to carry out my plans, I actually dropped by at the supermarket to get some more vegetables (still on today’s budget):


Yes, I got a can of mushy peas and paid 12p for it. That leaves the budget available for day 8 at 1 pound, 38p.

The can of the mushy peas stated “no colour”, which sounds about right:

Okay, so today was simple food. Pretty much no cooking skills required. Still just about hit my 5-a-day (I did manage to go over 4, at least). One can’t always be magicking up impressive meals, but simple, humble meals are needed for variation too. I recall a certain tomato mash on day one which was definitely worse…

I probably should take a break from mash and cabbage now. One week so far, and it’s been interesting. I’m also slowly starting to get into a bit of a routine- perhaps it’s time to do something wild and step things up a notch? Any suggestions are welcome, as long as I’m allowed to say no ๐Ÿ˜‰

3 Responses to “Meals – Day 07, lazy day”

  1. sarah March 7, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    Taking into account that you had pasta, noodles and potato mash many times this week and you still have some rice left, maybe – “mushroom risoto”? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I guess you’ll be trying to save even more money to have more choice?

    Fruit salad would be my obvious choice for lazy dessert.

    If I was in your shoes at this stage I would try to save for a bottle of veg/sunflower oil and a pack of butter.

    • kleinebre March 7, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

      I’ve written down a few meal ideas before I started. I’ve prepared a few of them, I’ve prepared a few dishes that weren’t on there. One week in with a few more staple items available, I guess I’ll revisit that list. I have a few secret wishes on there that will take some ingredient collecting over a few days but it will be rewarding if I manage.

      • sarah March 8, 2012 at 11:43 am #

        I don’t know what the best strategy should be, i.e. to keep buying the new things before eating what you’ve got already or to try to eat whatever you already have first + save some money for something you may need one day?

        Sounds like a great preparation! I honestly think you’ve done very well, after one week you’ve got a few things left (I guess you can make 3-4 decent meals out of them+breakfast every day for a week), plus saved some money. Well done!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

