Groceries – Day 10: Blood orange, curry, mushrooms and eggs

10 Mar
Content of pantry before shopping: 

- Perishable:

   1 blemished (=half a good) blood orange
                 (brought from the True Food Coop)
   2 portions (approx. 260 grams) of liver
   1 portion of pork fillet (frozen)
   a leftover of cabbage
   2.5 chillies
   1/4 onion
   4 pots fruit yoghurts
   garlic (2 big, 2 small cloves left)

 - Non-perishable:

   Most of 750 grams of salt
   Flour (a bit less than halfway)
   Rice
   mixed herbs
   lemon thyme
   full bag of oats minus 2 breakfasts
   About 40 grams of lard - running low

Budget available for day 10: £ 1.13
Budget used: £ 0.27
   + £ 0.50 in daytime shopping = £ 0.77
Budget left: £ 0.36
Budget available for day 9: £ 1.36

Day 10:receipt

I haven’t kept my pantry list updated very well, so you’ll notice some items in the list above that weren’t there yesterday. Somehow, the lard and yoghurts never made it into the list before; Rest assured, they’re accounted for in the groceries of previous days.

After dropping by at the True Food Coop (where I got the blemished blood orange) I went to the supermarket. As I’m pretty much supplied, all I got was a discounted meal (after all the wonderful curry smells, I couldn’t resist the 10p Saag Aloo), and two mushrooms, the two of which won’t just yet make it into a risotto as I have other plans for them. I also was allowed to bring some citrus leaves though I’m not sure at this moment whether they’re lemon leaves or orange leaves.

Day 10 - Groceries and a blood orange

This Sunday morning breakfast, I don’t think I’ll suffer. As it’s Saturday by now and I’ve been carpooling all week, I think I’ll be checking out the market.

Update – I managed to get eggs! And they cost me all of 50p for a box of 10!
(Update: accounted for as “daytime shopping” above).

Leave a Reply

