Groceries – Day 12: Onion, marge and mushy peas

11 Mar
Content of pantry before shopping: 

- Perishable:

   1 portion (approx. 130 grams) of liver
   2.5 chillies
   2 pots fruit yogurts
   garlic (one bulb plus two small cloves)

 - Non-perishable:

   Most of 750 grams of salt
   Flour (a bit less than halfway)
   Rice
   Mixed herbs
   Lemon thyme
   Oats

Budget available for day 12: £ 1.84
Budget used: £ 0.78
Budget left: £ 1.06
Budget available for day 13: £ 2.06

Receipt Day 12

Budget available on top of tomorrow's budget:
                  0.84 + 0.22 = 1.06
for a total spendable budget of 2.06

And here’s what I bought:
Groceries day 13

Despite the fact that I’m running low on vegetables again, at least it looks like I’m starting to build up a bit of a budget now. Of course certain staples are starting to run low – I’m not sure if I’ll see the end of the week with the current bag of flour. By the way, I’ll definitely go for self-raising again. The built-in baking powder doesn’t seem to interfere with most uses other than bread, and it has allowed me not to worry about yeast at all. Also, at no extra cost it has saved me some time (no waiting for bread to rise).

I did need an onion, I did need some fat and I did need some extra vegetables. I’m basically planning to save a bit of money in the next days, to do crazy things like buying a bottle of sunflower oil, getting onions by the bag instead of loose, and making sure that I’ll be able to afford another bag of flour when the current one runs out. So I stuck to what I really needed and left the rest for granted. I haven’t been very successful finding particularly interesting discounts in the past few days, perhaps I should shop earlier. With a whole pound of extra space already saved up from previous days, I won’t have to wait until after supper until tomorrow’s budget becomes available; I can simply shop for tomorrow on today’s available budget.

Leave a Reply

