Meals – Day 19: Bread and mash

19 Mar
Yesterday, I went overboard and actually bought a loaf of bread. This obviously saves me some time in baking my own. As you can see, I’ve already fallen for convenience products. But there’s a bit more to it than just that. Actually, I prefer wholemeal bread. It should give me a bit better nutrition than my home baked bread.
For breakfast, I was just going to keep it minimalist – With a toaster handy and some margarine a few inches away, I just made a few slices of “buttered” toast.
Day 19 Breakfast: "buttered" toast
With a few “tomato ketchup blankets” cheese slices left, lunch wasn’t much of a question either. What’s better than a cheese sandwich? Well, a cheese-and-onion sandwich of course. So I chopped a quarter of an onion small, sauteed it until it was transparent, and topped the sandwich with margarine, fried onion and a tomato cheese blanket. For the proper sandwich effect, I sliced it diagonally.
Day 19 lunch: Cheese and onion sandwich
These were as good as anything you’ll pay a pound and a half for – but the actual cost was closer to 5p in bread, 5p in cheese, 3p in onion and 2p in margarine for a grand total of 15p. 90% discount just because I made my own. Not bad.
After two relatively small meals, supper had to be a bit more substantial, and I knew just what to do about that. Hutspot. Say what? Onion-and-carrot mash.
Day 19 supper: Hutspot (onion-and-carrot mash)
This is a proper winter dish (not that the weather was very cold today). And it has a bit of a history too – it’s a typical Dutch dish. The story goes that the Spanish had invaded the city of Leiden and had been starving the local population. When they were flooded out, the first thing the citizens did was look for food. The story goes that what they found was a pot of onion and carrot mash that the Spanish had left behind. It actually wasn’t half bad either, so this became somewhat of a national independence dish.
Of course I didn’t make this quite right. For starters, traditionally the onion and carrot are simply boiled together until soft. In my version, for added flavour I sautee the onions instead of boiling them, and I add a clove of garlic. I’m not sure up to what point mustard is strictly traditional – but it’s almost always added. It certainly boosts the flavour of the dish. It’s a nice and simple little dish that can be cooked up quickly, is pretty much fool-proof and doesn’t produce a lot of dirty dishes. What’s not to like?
Now if only I’d remember to eat this on October 3rd instead of in March. Anyway, that’s enough history for one day!
Leave a Reply

