Meals – Day 20: Fish, fish, fish

20 Mar
With lunch taken care of (I had cooked up some sardines in tomato sauce, as mentioned in the previous “Groceries” post) and supper not yet planned, breakfast was my main focus. Something I hadn’t done yet this month was to make a nice toastie. But for once, I had the bread, I had the cheese, so it seemed like a good idea.
Day 20 breakfast: Toastie mess
Unfortunately I grabbed a smaller skillet – one that better fit the size of the slice of bread. One that no longer had a non-stick layer. One that should have been chucked out ages ago. A bad craftsman blames his tools, sure. But my toastie would never have been in this sorry state if I had picked the right tool.
Lunch, now that was a different story. Sardines in tomato sauce on toast.
Day 20 lunch: Sardines on toast
I’ve got two things to say about this in comparison with the tinned version. First of all, cooking the fish to oblivion definitely solves most of the fish bone problem. I almost choked on one and felt as if I needed to cough up a hair ball, Puss-in-Boots style. I’ve got a deep respect for cats to be live their lives like that.
Secondly, I’m quite sure some brands of tinned sardines add sugar to their tomato sauce.
Other than that, it was a pleasant lunch. But I’ve got a confession to make. The other day I bought two little bags of discounted carrot sticks. I brought one of them to lunch.
My bag of carrot sticks had gone off. The whole 80 grams of it. And no doubt the other bag too. That’s 160 grams worth of waste. I was really quite disappointed by that as I’ve been doing quite well keeping my waste to a minimum. I mean, drat.
Fortunately, I could mostly forget about that again once I’d made up my mind about supper. Fish, again. But nothing like sardines. No, this time it was going to be something halfway fancy.
Day 20 Supper: Spaghetti with mixed vegetables, crispy sea bream and a basil/mustard/butter dressing
This time, it was going to be spaghetti with mixed vegetables, crispy sea bream and a mustard/butter/basil dressing.
It goes something like this:
1. Put some spaghetti going. Stir regularly in the beginning. Add some salt and mixed herbs to the cooking water. Boil some mixed vegetables with a bit of salt as well.
2. Fillet the sea bream. Leave the skin on. Score the skin, rub with some salt and coat in flour, shaking off the excess. Refrigerate until needed.
3. Melt some butter in a skillet. Add a teaspoon of mustard and some of the spaghetti cooking water as well as a tablespoon of vinegar. Add a few leaves of fresh basil and a teaspoon of flour. Notice that it goes lumpy. Restore to a smooth consistency by briefly transferring it to a blender cup and blitzing it with a handheld blender, then return to reduce to a sauce-like consistency. Reserve.
3. Rinse and dry the skillet, add a bit of oil and heat it. When the oil is hot, put the scored, floured sea bream in the skillet, skin down. As it gets done, the meat will discolour (become less translucent). At about 2/3 the way up, flip over the fish to cook the other side.
4. Drain the spaghetti, serve. In the middle, add the mixed veg. Top with the sea bream, crispy side up. Drizzle some of the reserved mustard/basil dressing over the fish and the rest around it, over the spaghetti. Place some broccoli florets around the plate to decorate.
5. Enjoy!
So, I failed to eat liver as planned today. But I’ve had an enjoyable meal. And I’ve got an idea for that other half of sea bream.
One Response to “Meals – Day 20: Fish, fish, fish”

  1. Arno Brevoort March 21, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    More creative food today, cool.

    I’ve lost track of the contents of the pantry — which is a nice way to play the guessing game “what’s for dinner”.

Leave a Reply

