Meals – Day 25: Sandwiches, fruit and Nolognese.

25 Mar
Sunday morning, day 25. Oats didn’t sound very appealing, so I took a dive into the fridge to see if there was anything else available worthy of the name breakfast. I didn’t want to use my last egg just yet, and I didn’t feel like anything too plain.
Now, one of the things I’ve been doing over the past weeks is to try to keep little leftovers and to spread out ingredients across several meals as much as possible. And today, that came very much in handy- I still had just enough liver pate left from two weeks ago to make a half-sandwich with it. I topped another slice of bread with mustard and ham and called it breakfast.

Day 25 breakfast; Pate and ham sandwiches
For lunch I needed to drop by at the supermarket. Once I arrived, I felt mostly like fruit, so that’s what I got. I suppose I should have been keeping a little bit closer eye on my nutrition in the past week than I have, but the body responds nicely by craving the things it needs- so fruit it was. Of course I wasn’t going to get through the afternoon on a bit of fruit alone, so I mixed in some oats as well. That worked nicely, and did keep me going until dinner time.
Day 25 lunch: Fruit salad with oats
Still, I needed something a bit more substantial for supper. It was pretty clear to me what that was going to be – I had opened a pack of passata / sieved tomato half a week ago, and it needed to be used. The obvious thing was to make a spaghetti bolognese. Except for the fact that to do it properly, I’d need beef mince, celery, bayleaf, carrot, garlic and milk as well to make a proper ragu. And a splash of wine. None of that was available (I used my last clove of garlic yesterday). Obviously it wasn’t going to happen, but that didn’t stop me from making a nice tomato sauce to go with my pasta.
I chopped some onion and sauteed it in some oil. Meanwhile I reduced down the tomato on the other side of the skillet to concentrate the flavour. Once mixed with the onion, I added some mixed herbs and lemon thyme. The pasta went into boiling water with a sprig of freshly picked rosemary. Once the tomato sauce was done, I poured a bit of malt vinegar into the skillet to make a vinegar reduction, hoping that it would work as well as a balsamic vinegar reduction. Let’s just say that a proper balsamic vinegar is the way to go. Don’t waste your time on trying to make a malt vinegar reduction if a balsamic reduction is what you’re aiming for. Next week, no doubt.
I added a splash of oil to the skillet and cooked the rest of the mixed vegetables. To finish it off, I added some strips of ham.
Perhaps this wasn’t quite a Spaghetti Bolognese, so I guess we’ll have to call it a spaghetti ‘No’lognese.
Spaghetti Nolognese
Still, it was a pleasing dish made with relatively little effort. I’ll definitely have to go shopping for food tomorrow – I’m running low and out of just about everything.
Any special requests for the last week?

2 Responses to “Meals – Day 25: Sandwiches, fruit and Nolognese.”

  1. ylebre March 26, 2012 at 6:35 am #

    If you still have rice flour and enough sunflower oil, you could go for some fried bananas: rice flour, water and a pinch of salt. Make sure the batter covers all of the banana!

    • kleinebre March 26, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

      Bananas definitely aren’t the problem there – They’re the cheapest fruit I’ve found so far.

      I’m all out of rice flour though (and generally running low on everything) but I’ve still got self raising flour which should potentially do the trick just as well. To keep it light, I’d just need to make sure to first heat the oil and then make the batter to prevent the gluten from developing too much.

      Using ice cold (carbonated) water would help to get it light as well – the water temperature would slow gluten development and the CO2 would help the batter to puff up. Hm, I just might!

Leave a Reply

