Meals – Day 31: Too busy to cook!

1 Apr
If I had known that Saturday was going to be *this* busy, I would have prepared some food in advance.
Sure, breakfast was nice and easy enough.
Day 31 breakfast: Crumpet with lemon curd
Another crumpet. Not a hole in sight, but I couldn’t pass up an opportunity to at least try one smothered in lemon curd.
Wonderful. I proclaim this crumpet the Meal of the Day, if only because the other two meals were most definitely sub-par.
Lunch. I can assure you, by the time I had time for that, that crumpet had gone and so had my good mood. On top of that, I spent too much on a too small lunch. But at least it kept me going for another while. Nutritionally, the last day may well have been the worst day of the lot. A can of microwaved baked beans. Whooptydoo. Just what I was hoping for.
Finally, long overdue, supper. Now, I was originally planning to make something really nice for lunch. Failing that, no doubt it was going to be for supper. Well, no such thing happened. Ultimately, I had to settle for a microwave meal. I present to you,The Most Expensive Meal of the Month: Microwave Chicken Madras with parboiled rice.
Day 31 Supper: Microwave Chicken Madras with Rice
It was edible. Slightly better than the meals I refer to as “day 1” meals. But this wasn’t quite the kind of dish that was going to cure my craving for nice spices. Sorry people, this just isn’t the more-or-less glorious ending I had in mind. It just doesn’t feel right.
I guess I’ll have to cook at least one more meal, using nothing but the ingredients and budget I’ve got left. I know I haven’t kept track quite as well as I should have, but this is what the pantry still looks like:
  • 1 big mushroom
  • 1 egg
  • self-raising flour
  • rice
  • 1 portion oats
  • vinegar
  • salt
  • leftover of onion
  • lemon thyme
  • mixed herbs
  • chicken pieces
  • fatty mince (beef/pork mix, about 150g)
  • half a carrot
  • small potatoes
  • beetroot slices
  • mustard
  • lemon curds
  • oil
  • 1/2 bulb of garlic
  • 100 grams butter
  • dark soy sauce
  • 34p
I reckon it should be possible to cook up quite a feast with that. Certainly something nicer than a microwave meal.
Leave a Reply

