New situation, different circumstances. I wonder if…?

2 Jul

So I moved (yes, that’s what all the busy time was about the last day of the one pound per day challenge). I no longer live at walking distance of one of the lowest-cost supermarkets nationwide.

In fact, all supermarkets nearby right now are overpriced village supermarkets. The nearest “mainstream” supermarket is a 20 minute walk away, and I’d normally consider it to be moderately expensive.

So in the past months I’ve come to wonder about a few things.

First of all, could I manage to live on a pound per day under these new circumstances?

Second, it *is* officially summer right now (not that the weather here has anything to show for it)… could I manage to rely on nature for veg? I’m not much of a forager but the plants that I know, I know. That is, I’m not likely to kill myself by eating poisonous plants.

Not saying that I’ll be as crazy as in March. No sir, I don’t think I’ll be giving up on my herbs and spices if I can help it. It’s just that… I wonder. For greens, I reckon foraging can go a long way. For protein… trickier, save for plenty of snails in the wet weather though. Road kill, I don’t think so. Fishing? Maybe. As for carbs… those seem surprisingly hard to find in nature.

I wonder if I should give it a try, or not. I wonder what set of rules would be realistic.

Comments and insights would be much appreciated!

Best,

Marc

7 Responses to “New situation, different circumstances. I wonder if…?”

  1. Mr. Fed Up August 15, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    Seriously…a garden can save you a bunch of cash…but road kill is another option- haha

    • Marc April 27, 2013 at 11:22 pm #

      Road kill… Yum! If I run into any in the next week, I just might have to go for it… Still *you* are the king of making shitty ingredients taste good! (do you dare deny it?)

      • Mr. Fed Up April 29, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

        haha. Turning crap into tasty crap is a skill I have been working on for a long time!

  2. sword April 19, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    i live on a pound a day 11pence morrison noodles i have two dogs and a cat to feed i also steal food my bad can’t get food vouchers i don’t have children sickh temples will feed you also

    • Marc April 27, 2013 at 11:19 pm #

      That’s tough going… Even so, do get flour and learn to use it. Seriously, it’s the most versatile ingredients you can get your hands on. That pack of instant noodles you’re paying for? It is only 11p but gives you only 70 grams or so, while a kilo and a half of flour will cost you around 50p.

      Do you see what I’m getting at? At the same price, plain flour can give you nearly 5 times as much to eat. Additionally, if you know what to do with it, it can provide you with lots more variety, too. I do realise that the comparison isn’t 100% fair as an 11p pack of noodles comes with a baggie of seasoning, while plain flour does not. By no means, a pound per day stretches far enough to allow you to live comfortably, and nobody should be expected to live at such a small budget. But at the same time, that budget may stretch just that bit more than you think.

      Wishing you all the best,
      Marc

  3. Shahbaz May 2, 2014 at 11:39 am #

    Have you thought about dumpster diving? Supermarkets throw good food away if it reaches it’s “best before” or no longer conforms to their visual appeal standards (i.e. slightly bruised fruit and veg, dented tin etc.).

    • kleinebre May 2, 2014 at 7:46 pm #

      I have thought about it, but never needed to do so, even on a budget of a pound. Had I found some juicy fresh road kill this week, I might have used it though.

Leave a Reply

