Meals – Day 21: The Missing Pictures

21 Mar
My sincerest apologies. I was going to post all my meals for today, but – can you believe it? – I forgot to photograph breakfast. Then I forgot to photograph lunch. On top of that, I didn’t go shopping yesterday, so there’s no groceries article either.
Shame on me. I’ll try to make it up to you.
First of all, breakfast this morning was oats with banana. I actually blended the lot together before microwaving it. I suppose it looked a lot like a regular bowl of oats – roughly similar to the plain oats I had on day 15, so something along these lines:
Day 15 breakfast: plain oats
Shame, shame. Reusing a stock picture. I’m just going from bad to worse. Anyway, actually the oats were slightly smoother. They also took a little bit less microwave time than usual.
For lunch, things are even worse. It was a very busy day at work today, so I rushed through it. It wasn’t anything particularly fancy – for the sea bream dish yesterday, I made a bit extra spaghetti and some extra mixed vegetables. I mixed them together, cut the spaghetti a bit smaller with scissors, and that was basically my lunch. I’m afraid you lot are going to have to imagine it.
Imagine that. A food blog without pictures of the food that was eaten. Shame.
So, I’ll try to make it up to you all.
First of all, supper. As yesterday, sea bream with mixed veg. But this time, I prepared it with rice instead of spaghetti. And presto! Asian sea bream. Oh wait. You guys will never let me off the hook like that.
Right. I present you, foil steamed Asian style sea bream.
Day 21 Supper: Asian style foil steamed sea bream
Here’s how it’s made.
– Cook some rice. If you need further instructions for this, by all means, do ask.
– Spread some aluminium foil in an oven dish.
– Cut an onion into thin strips and finely cut a clove of garlic. Cut about a tablespoon
worth of flakes from a piece of frozen ginger. If you like spicy, add a little green chili as well, cut small.
– Put about a tablespoon of oil on the foil. Lay the sea bream or other white fish on top of that and cover with the cut flavourings. Drizzle with dark soy sauce to season. Add mixed vegetables (pre-boiled if you want them soft), add about 50ml of water, then close the foil.
– Place in a hot oven (200°C) for about 20 minutes.
– Serve on top of the boiled rice.
Now, it’s not just the flavour and the texture that are different from the dish I prepared yesterday. If you do your dishes by hand, this is a breeze to clean.
So much so that I’ll throw in another little one. I made a little apple/ginger crumble.

Mix equal parts of flour and cold butter. In my case, I used margarine, but if you’re going for flavour you might as well go for the real stuff. While I’m at it, you might want to add a tablespoon of sugar and a bit of cinnamon as well, but I didn’t have that available. Lucky you.
Keep gently squashing the bigger lumps until the mix resembles bread crumbs. It’s all right to have some bigger and some smaller crumbs; more texture for you. Once done, set aside.
Peel and dice an apple. Braeburn is probably my favourite. Pour hot water over the cubes -this will help the apple keep its shape once we’re baking it. Grate some ginger over the cubed apple and put the cubes of apple. Once again, if you have sugar, this might be a good time to add some, to taste – in my case I just had to do without. Cover the sugared, gingered apple with the crumbs, then bake in a hot oven until the crumbs have browned. If you’ve sugared your crumbs, this will take less time than if you haven’t – so keep an eye on it.
Apple-and-ginger crumble
I certainly hope this makes up for my failure!

Leave a comment